Game Fishing Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,919 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, guys, I'm new to wing shooting, however I have broken enough clays to want to try something new. Right now I'm just in the R&D phase, but I was wondering if any of you more experienced hunters could point me in the direction of some public lands in Eastern Washington where various species of upland game can be found. Now, I'm now looking for anyone's specret spots, as I would rather find my own. I live in Ellensburg so I guess the closer to home, the better. Other then that, I was curious as to what gun/choke/ammo combos you all use and for what species you use them. I'm in the process of picking up a rem 870 in 20 gauge, so any recomondations about 20 gauge ammo would be especially appreciated.

Any other bits of info will be appreciate too. Thanks for readin'

-TheSlayer

·
2,222 Posts
Well Mr, Slayer, you're asking for big trouble. Actually if you have gone this far I can honestly say you're already screwed.

I'm gonna say something to you that I was told, and ignored. That is until I began doing upland hunting. You're now in the market for a dog. You're in luck though because the magic dog I bought comes from a breeder in Ellensburg. The same parents are having another litter this year. Many are likely already purchased and they have not even bred yet!

In anycase start the search now for a dog if you don't already have access to one. The upland hunting with a dog is off the charts better then beating the bush without one. I would probably still hunt without a dog, but it would never EVER be the same for me. My little pup if you read some other posts I have here is the whole enjoyment in this hunting for me now.