Game Fishing Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been thinking about sinking some $$$$ into a pontoon boat. I've never fished off a drift boat or pontoon boat but I do have a sled and have put countless hours in on the banks. I don't have the room or the funds to buy and store a drift boat but I do want to fish some of the smaller rivers that my 20' sled can't run.

My questions are these;
1. How do you fish a pontoon boat?
2. What is a good one with a reasonable price? I'm not talking one or these $1500 models, I'm sure they are nice.
3. I am willing to do trip trade, a sled trip for a pontoon/drift trip, so that I can be sure I want to spend the money. PM me.

Dr.E

·
Registered
247 Posts
Ive been using a Bucks bag (high country)pontooner for a couple years and it is great no complaints, 8 or 9 foot model is ideal for small river action. Cost wise $400 ish after some accesory additions. Ive even put my 50lb minnkota on that thing and its some good fun especially in the rivers. Good luck with your search Tup:

·
Registered
60 Posts
Pontoons are great for getting to one hole from another, but are tough to side drift out of. Never had any problems sending a bladder back to Creek Company for a new free one.

·
Registered
37 Posts
I also just use mine for transportation down the river then get out and bank fish. You could fish out of one but I think a drift boat would be better if you wanted to cover all the water you see.

·
Registered
1,391 Posts
I have a 9' Water Skeeter, its the cheaper pontoon boat they make. Its hard to fish out of and you'll find yourself banking it from hole to hole. They are alot of fun and you are fishing. You also cant bring as much gear as you want just bring what you need. dont forget your PFD. I would get a Mustang Tup:

·
Registered
2,047 Posts
I bought 2 Outcast Fish Cat 9-IRs this summer and have not regretted it Tup: