Game Fishing Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there everyone! I'm pretty new to fishing in general, I want to know all about fishing at the les davis pier. What kind of fish are biting right now? What should I be fishing for? And when should I be fishing for it? Tides and all this are completely new to me. Even the types of rigs used out here! I've just moved from kentucky, and only have limited experience on that. So I was hoping you guys could fill me in on what I need to know or even show me if you are in the Tacoma Area.

·
Registered
688 Posts
My very first recommendation is to find a copy of the WDFW Fishing Regs pamphlet and become familiar with it to include licensing, single barbless hooks, seasons for MA 11, and daily/possession limit requirements.

While you can catch the occasional bottomfish (sole and perch) from the several piers to include Les Davis and Point Defiance Marina the several fisheries which garner a fair amount of activity from the piers are: (1) jigging for squid in late fall/early winter, (2) dock/coonstripe shrimp during open season, (3) crab during open season (mostly rock crab), and (4) salmon during open season with emphasis on silvers and pinks. Salmon seasons have yet to be set for this upcoming year and due to recent drought and offshore conditions additional restrictions may be forthcoming. In short, stand by on salmon.

If you want to look at gear and chat about pier fishing stop by the tackle shop at Point Defiance Marina and talk with Art or Gene. They will also be holding a National Marina Day event in June which in the past has included a pier fishing derby. Watch and learn.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
My very first recommendation is to find a copy of the WDFW Fishing Regs pamphlet and become familiar with it to include licensing, single barbless hooks, seasons for MA 11, and daily/possession limit requirements.