Game Fishing Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am going to be laying laminate flooring in one of the rooms of my house tomorrow which i have never done before,I have ripped up all the old carpet and pad and have it down to the original hardwood floors.My question is,do I want to lay it in the same direction as the original floor or the opposite or does it not matter?If anyone has any advice on this i would greatly appreciate it,thanx

· Registered
11,190 Posts
I like to lay it perpendicular to the length of the room. In other words, the opposite direction as the longest walls. If the room is square go whatever way matches the floor plan direction. Like if you're walking into a large square room lay it left to right. You don't want the lines going the same direction you are walking. If you have two entrances to one room you can go diagonal but it takes a lot more material.

· Registered
641 Posts
I can see the practicallity in laying laminate over old-school hardwood.
Depending on the age of the original material, the hardwood may be vastly inferior to a modern laminate.
Hardwood doesn't live up to it's name in it's ability to take a beating like laminate. Table and chair legs can really do a number on hardwood flooring....Not to mention the activities of a couple kids.
True the dings and marks of a hardwood floor give the room character and a lived in, homey feel but for day in, day out durability, maitainence and appearance laminate flooring offers important plusses that hardwood flooring lack.
I am as "old school" as anybody on this forum...I even have hardwood in much of my house but in some regards comparing the two floor materials is kind of the same as comparing a canvas tent with a nylon model.
Nothing really compares to the look of a recently re-finished hardwood floor that has been freshly waxed...just wish the look was more lasting.

· Registered
1,320 Posts
fishinfoolz said: