Game Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
2,222 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
With the big event on this forum for the year being Photography, what do you guys know about Digital SLR cameras.

I've kinda been lookin at the Canon Rebel XTi the last few months. I'm not ready to make the jump quite yet but I have not found anything else I like as well so far.

What information and experience have you guys got with Digial SLR's?

·
Administrator
13,955 Posts
I'll be in the market for a digital SLR soon. I'd also be interested in any comments.

·
Registered
15,057 Posts
I'm no expert but the optical advantages of the SLR along with the ability to pop up the photos on the computer seem a great capability to me. Downside: all the ones I like are damn pricey.
My grandaughter has a digital slr and several lenses, Nikon ?? hell I forget the model but she does a lot of wedding photo shoots and kiddy portraits. The thing takes fabulous photos.

·
Super Moderator
6,601 Posts
The Rebel XT or XTi are excellent choices. I have a XT. It's hard to take a bad photo with the XT.

·
Registered
5,149 Posts
I've had a Nikon D-50 for a few years now, and it is great. It was their budget/entry level model at the time. There is a D-40 now I think with even less frills, which brings me to the point of my reply. Many of the higher end models have a ton of features that the average guy will probably never take full advantage of. Even on my low end cameras, I've got features that I don't even undrstand much less use. Keep that in mind when shopping around.

The real beauty the the digital SLR is being able to use a variety of lenses for different applications. That's where I'd spend my money. I'd prefer a more basic camera body and a few more lenses rather than an expensive camera and fewer lenses.

·
Registered
1,860 Posts