Game Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
1,476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just ordered a new baitcasting reel from Cabelas for the new Okuma rod that I got for xmas.I have some experience with baitcasters before when I had an older Ambassedeur but I kinda got away from it and went back to strickly spinning for certain reasons like It was really hard to cast lighter weight when fishing slower drifts,but I also did like them better in other reasons like it seems you have more control of the drag using your thumb when fighting a fish.Anyways,on my last baitcaster I ran Powerpro,I have noticed others mainly using mono.What do you guys prefer on baitcasters,mono or braid?

·
Registered
38 Posts
You should never use a braid for drift fishing, only float fishing. Snags and breakoffs leave some pretty mean pieces of line on the bottom. I use maxima ultra green for drifting, powerpro for floats.

·
Registered
89 Posts
i personally use #30 braid and i only break off my leader and rod

everyone gives me shit for it but i dont care i bring in alot more fish than my dad and he uses mono

·
Registered
1,705 Posts
I'm in the minority,but I think Maxima is overrated.

I use Berkley Big Game on my BCs.

·
Registered
222 Posts
I've used maxima ultragreen ever since it came out,never let me down yet. 2 yrs. ago I tried maxima crystal ivory (ultragreen with out the color) seems to be limper but just as strong. I've had good results with it.

·
Registered
210 Posts
For drifting I've used ultra green for years with no probs. I use crystal ivory on my spoon rod (so I can see it).

If crystal ivory is the same as ultra green but with different coloring, I wonder why crystal ivory cost waaaaay less than ultra green. Anyone know why?

·
Registered
681 Posts
There is no braid in this ball of crap mono that was pulled out of a river by a braid line!
Every bit of it was mono. Excess line was burned in the fire after salvage rights were exercised.